What I Think – Has Lance Hayes Made An All Time Driving Music Hit?


What I am referring to specifically is the menu soundtrack that you hear in Forza Motorsport 3, the video game. It’s timeless, and some of the most evocative car music your ears will ever hear. And the entire score was composed by DJ Lance Hayes, also known as DJ Drunken Master. Even though the soundtrack is now two years old, and has been succeeded by the one in Forza Motorsport 4, which Lance Hayes also composed, for some reason the new one didn’t give the same alluring, engaging, “this really makes me want to find a new driving road or work on my car” feeling.

Don’t get me wrong, the Forza Motorsport 4 score is great. Really. But it just isn’t the same at all. As a matter of fact it has a strangely different feeling, as if it isn’t even related to cars and rather is more sci-fi. Perhaps Lance Hayes really has made something timeless. Sure, after listening to the songs several times over and over from FM3, they seemed to get old. So I stopped listening, and then when Forza Motorsport 4 came out later I listened to the new game’s soundtrack. And then after months and months in between, it occurred to me, what if I revisit the FM3 music. It was rewarding to say the least. I’m actually listening to a track from the soundtrack now called Superleggera as I write this. Obviously the names are inspired by motor sports and car related things. And right now I think I know what I’m going to do; end this here and go tinker with my car.

If you want to hear the soundtrack, you can either find it on YouTube, or click this link;

http://grooveshark.com/#!/search?q=Forza+Motorsport+3+soundtrack

Comment here. No spam please.

